Judges announce Christmas Parade entry winners

Darcie Dyer
Staff Writer

1 years 1 months 11 days 23 hours ago |222 Views | | | Email | Print

Scores of floats, marching bands, dance groups and antique cars paraded down the streets of downtown Elkin and Jonesville Sunday afternoon in the annual Christmas parade.

While the town lined the streets to see the parade pass by, judges made note of the best entries in several categories. Float judges for the event were Lona York and Chris Cartwright of Elkin and Glenda Gilliam of Jonesville.

The judges chose the best in the following categories: best high school band went to Elkin High School, best non-professional entry was awarded to the Shriners, Mt. Pleasant Baptist Church won most enthusiastic entry, best classic car went to Jerry Brown, best dance group went to Footloose Express, best religious entry was awarded to Swaim’s Baptist Church, most unusual entry went to Wilkes County Zombies and most effective expressing the theme was awarded to Lowes.

Reach Darcie Dyer at 835-1513 or ddyer@heartlandpublications.com.


comments powered by Disqus


Sponsored By:

Local Gas Prices

Lowest Gas Prices in Elkin
Elkin Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com

Featured Business

Community Directory