As of July 1, owners of mopeds are required by state law to carry liability insurance and provide the DMV with proof of coverage. Failure to maintain liability insurance or provide proof of coverage may result in license plate revocation.
That’s just one of a number of state laws that went into effect July 1. Among those are:
• Autism Health Insurance Coverage – requires certain health benefit plans to provide coverage for the screening, diagnosis and treatment of autism spectrum disorder including coverage for adaptive behavior therapy of up to $40,000 per year for individuals 18 years of age or younger.
• Handicap Placard/Medical Recertification – eliminates the requirement that a person provide a medical recertification that the person is handicapped when renewing a handicapped placard if the person is certified as totally and permanently disabled.
• Long-Term Care Ombudsman – The program was established to address concerns of residents in long-term care facilities and their families and to protect and improve the quality of care and life for residents. It also provides education for consumers and the public about Elder Abuse and Prevention.
• The name of the North Carolina State Fireman’s Association is changed to the North Carolina State Firefighters’ Association, and the statutory definition of “firefighter” now includes firefighters employed by county marshal offices. Fire alarms that are unintentional and result in no damage are not considered in calculating minimum response requirements for initial rating or classification.
• Taxation of Tribal Land and Tobacco Products – Real and personal property located on lands held in trust by the United States for the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, regardless of ownership, are exempt from property taxes.
• Reegan’s Rule/Enforce Pharmacy Benefits – The Commissioner of Insurance is granted enforcement authority over Pharmacy Benefits Managers including the ability to impose a penalty between $100 and $1,000 per day for each prescription drug resulting from the PBM’s failure to comply to maximum allowable cost required by law.
• North Carolina Utilities Commission Regulatory Fee Changes – public utility fees are reduced for two types of telephone companies in competitive jurisdictional revenues (whose territory is open to competition from other local providers) that have elected alternative regulation from the Utilities Commission. Depending on the type the fee is reduced either from 0.6 percent to 0.4 percent, or from 0.4 to 0.2 percent. The rate for noncompetitive companies remains at 0.148 percent.
• A franchised motor vehicle dealer who agrees to loan a new motor vehicle to a customer having his or her vehicle serviced by the dealer may obtain Loaner/Dealer license plate for the vehicle. There is no limit on the number of plates the dealer may be issued provided the annual fee for each is paid.
Reach Terri Flagg at 415-4734.