Local players stack All-MVAC football teams

Matthew Gorry Sports Writer

December 11, 2013

ELKIN — Local gridiron stars stacked the All-Mountain Valley Conference teams when the league released the annual awards last month.

Starmount, which split the regular-season MVAC championship at 6-1 with North Wilkes and Ashe County, placed eight players on the first teams.

Senior Will Simpson highlighted the Rams’ honors with an offensive (running back) and defensive (linebacker) selection, and was joined by offensive linemen Garrett Stokes and Bailey Craft, linebacker Sawyer Davis, defensive linemen Trey Bryant and Josh Houser, defensive back Kyle Matthews and placekicker Nick Gunnell.

Quarterback Zach Freed and Houser earned an offensive honorable mention, while Ian Fennell and Aaron Sheets each garnered an honorable mention on defense.

Elkin saw three players named to the All-MVAC squads, led by junior Kody King, who cracked the first team on offense (wide receiver) and defense (defensive back).

Quarterback Josh Strickland earned an all-conference nod, while senior Cory Anderson joined King as the only Elks on the defensive first team.

Daniel Brinegar, Tyrek Hayes, Dillon Wood, Zane Millsaps and Anderson were named offensive honorable mentions, with Will Altemueller and Brandon Bradley garnering defensive honorable mentions.

East Wilkes placed three players on first teams, headlined by senior running back Jathan Sales. Offensive linemen Kehlyn Jarvis and Cody Colbert rounded out the Cardinals’ selections.

Zack West and Omar Everette earned an offensive honorable mention, while Devan Money was a defensive honorable mention.

The complete all-conference and honorable mention teams are below:

Tri-Champion — Starmount, North Wilkes, Ashe County

Offensive Player of the Year — L.J. Hendren (North Wilkes)

Defensive Player of the Year — Taylor Nestor (Alleghany)

Coach of the Year — Monty Chipman (North Wilkes)

All-Conference Offense

Offensive Backs

Chandler (Alleghany)

Johnathan Cox (Ashe County)

L.J. Herdren (North Wilkes)

Chance Huffman (West Wilkes)

Jathan Sales (East Wilkes)

Will Simpson (Starmount)

Josh Strickland (Elkin)

Victor Williams (Wilkes Central)

Offensive Lineman

Mitchell Brown (Ashe County)

Cody Colbert (East Wilkes)

Bailey Craft (Starmount)

Austin Dice (Wilkes Central)

Avery Hash (Alleghany)

Kehlyn Jarvis (East Wilkes)

Ryan MacRae (West Wilkes)

Kolsean Seal (Alleghany)

Eithan Sheets (West Wilkes)

Alex Smurda (Ashe County)

Garrett Stokes (Starmount)


Josh Bare (North Wilkes)

Kody King (Elkin)

Maison McNeil (Ashe County)

Josh Martin (North Wilkes)


Victor Williams (Wilkes Central)

All-Conference Defense


Cory Anderson (Elkin)

Josh Bare (North Wilkes)

Sawyer Davis (Starmount)

Dustin Guy (Ashe County)

Matthew Hamiliton (Ashe County)

Will Simpson (Starmount)

Defensive Line

Cullen Ashley (Ashe County)

Jason Baker (Ashe County)

Trey Bryant (Starmount)

Brandon Eubanks (Alleghany)

Josh Houser (Starmount)

Mike Howell (Wilkes Central)

Chris Johnson (North Wilkes)

Taylor Nester (Alleghany)

Eitheen Sheets (West Wilkes)

Defensive Backs

Jacob Blevins (Ashe County)

Dylan Dula (Wilkes Central)

Michael Elliott (Ashe County)

Kody King (Elkin)

Josh Martin (North Wilkes)

Kyle Matthews (Starmount)

Jeremiah Triplett (West Wilkes)

Zack Wagoner (North Wilkes)


Parker Gunnell (Starmount)

Honorable Mention Offense

Cory Anderson (Elkin)

Dillon Bullard (Wilkes Central)

Daniel Brinegar (Elkin)

Omar Everette (East Wilkes)

Zach Freed (Starmount)

Tyrek Hayes (Elkin)

Kendrick Horton (Wilkes Central)

Josh Houser (Starmount)

Bradley Lucas (Ashe County)

Erik Lyons (Alleghany)

Zane Millsaps (Elkin)

Justin Sheperd (North Wilkes)

Jeremiah Triplett (West Wilkes)

Zack West (East Wilkes)

Dillon Wood (Elkin)

Honorable Mention Defense

Will Altemueller (Elkin)

Shawn Baker (Ashe County)

Austin Bare (West Wilkes)

Brandon Bradley (Elkin)

Austin Dice (Wilkes Central)

Ian Fennell (Starmount)

Chance Huffman (West Wilkes)

Luke Johnson (North Wilkes)

Doug Maund (West Wilkes)

Devan Money (East Wilkes)

Devin Roberts (North Wilkes)

Earnest Shaw (Alleghany)

Justin Sheperd (North Wilkes)

Aaron Sheets (Starmount)

Eric Solis (Alleghany)

Coty Wagoner (North Wilkes)

Reach Matthew Gorry at 835-1513 or mgorry@civitasmedia.com.